Open Access Awards

Left to right Aoife Lawton, Rachel Wilkinson, Des Crowley and Dr Ana Terre

HSE Open Access Research Awards 2019 

The sixth annual HSE Open Access Research Awards ceremony took place on December 4th.

Celebrating Open Access

The HSE Open Access publishing award was established in 2014 to encourage and reward open access publishing in the Irish health sector.

Submissions are invited from across a range of disciplines in health and social care.

About the Awards

The awards build on the HSE’s statement on Open Access publishing and the commitment to develop and promote open research. The award recognises health and social care professionals and those conducting research in the Irish health system. It is a route to promote research activity that improves the evidence and knowledge base underpinning our health services.

Award Categories

The Open Access Awards are awarded in the eight categories listed below. When submitting an entry select the category for which it is to be considered.

  • Mental Health
  • Acute Hospitals
  • Primary Care
  • Social Care
  • Health and Well Being
  • Quality Improvement
  • National Cancer Control Programme
  • Clinical Strategy & Programmes

There is also an overall winner, which is the article viewed by the external judge to represent an outstanding piece of research from the years’ entries.

The Award Winners receive a newly-commissioned glass piece in recognition of their valuable research contribution to Irish healthcare.

Criteria for Entry

Entries can draw on expertise from the medical, nursing or social care disciplines and include administration or management but must fulfil the following criteria;

  • The research article should have been published in the previous 24 months
  • It should be available in full text in Open Access (and added to the Lenus repository, pre or post entry)

Open Access Awards 2019 Winners

Overall winner 2019

The overall winner of the 2018 HSE Open Access Research Awards was:

Des Crowley and colleagues for their paper ‘Evaluating peer-supported screening as a hepatitis C case-finding model in prisoners‘. 

Congratulations to all the 2019  award winners and entrants.

More on Open Access and the Open Access Awards >>>